A New Book

​Today I opened a new book 

Curious and interested 

I glanced over its cover

Colourful and vibrant it seemed 

But with words so dark

As I went through the prologue 

Million thoughts came buzzing 

Confusing yet Intelligent 

My Imagination searched horizon

And glanced above the cloud 

As I started guessing 

What’s this book all about 

I tried to turn over to begin

And start my journey through its pages

But I was wondering what if

I got struck between the words for ages

What if I stumbled upon the characters 

And strike some resemblance

What if I get lost in the story

So lost that I forgot to turn the page

And got stoned of emotions 

Like I’m trapped in a cage

Scared I shut down the book

With fear of being doomed

As the bookmark peeps through 

And I left the book at the page,

From where it was meant to be resumed.

Leave a Reply

